The Beer Savant

October 6, 2012

Moose Drool Brown Ale

Moose Drool Brown AleDate: September 29, 2012
Cost: $7.00/bottle
Brewery: Big Sky Brewing Company, Missoula, Montana
Alcohol content: 5.3%
Served: Cold in a chilled glass at the National Park Inn, Longmire, WA

When you’re staying at an inn inside a national park and you see an ale called “Moose Drool” on the drink menu, well, there’s only one thing to do: try it!

At Mt. Rainier’s National Park Inn, you can sit on the front porch of the hotel, your trail-sore feet propped up on the railing, surrounded by nature and a glorious view of the grand mountain across the valley, and order drinks off the menu, which are then delivered cold with a chilled glass. Again, I found myself in a familiar situation: was I grading the beer on its taste or on the experience surrounding it? It wasn’t easy, but I dialed down my euphoria for a few moments to give this beer its true day in court.

Moose Drool poured a medium brown that almost looked like blackberry at times. It had nice lacing and carbonation and sported a full, hearty taste without being overwhelming. I tasted some nice malts and caramel flavoring with a touch of nuttiness, all well balanced and not overly sweet. Take away the mountains, the forest, the song of birds and rustle of leaves, and this beer would still score high with me. And that’s a good thing, because I plan to drink it again, and unfortunately, the next time will probably be within the city limits.

1 Comment »

  1. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thank you, However I am encountering difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I can’t subscribe to it. Is there anybody
    getting the same RSS issues? Anybody who knows the answer can you kindly respond?
    Thanx!!

    Comment by Edward — June 24, 2013 @ 4:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

